It’s a Family Thanksgiving, Charlie Brown!

Hello and welcome!

Today is Thanksgiving, a day where we are supposed to appreciate all that we are given in life.  Instead of this gracious warmth that we are supposed to enjoy, I am sitting in the corner of a house full of people that I don’t know.

My grandma died in June of last year and she always hosted Thanksgiving and Christmas when I was at my dad’s.  So the last two years my cousin has hosted at her house. With her whole baby daddy’s family.  So now my brother Tobias and I are sitting in the corner all awkward surrounded by a bunch of sketchy people that are all drunk, high, or both that my dad and paternal stepfamily know, but we don’t.

I just feel left out and that’s a really shitty thing to feel on a day that has always meant being around family for me.  I’m compensating by writing my college essays and updating my blog to try and vent my sadness.  Happy Thanksgiving.

-Ali

Leave a Reply

